Thinking about how in some ways, we never grow up.

I’ve cried three times since I’ve been in Scotland.  The first was when I skyped with my dog, Lucy.  (The tears were unexpected, to say the least). (My MS roommate helped out with facilitating the interaction with her computer – otherwise, it would have obviously been impossible). The second was when I was walking in the woods and praying and struggling through a lot of hurt, anger, and confusion about life and some of the harder truths therein.  The third was just now, while I listened to the last ten minutes of the ‘listen live’ podcast of my church at home in Mississippi, overwhelmed by the grace and truth I received through the last bit of the message presented.

The simple psychology and logic behind the way we were created is evidenced when you’re talking to a child who is coloring.  If you shout at said child for going outside of the lines, the chances are good that the child will probably try harder, and maybe even stay inside of the lines – but not out of freedom or for the enjoyment of coloring.  They feel shamed.  They are afraid to disappoint you – and afraid they won’t live up to the standard you’ve set.  However, when you’re talking to a child who is coloring and you delight in them for doing  one of the things kids do best… which is, of course, coloring – you’ll inevitably see the child work harder on the picture, delighting in the work and being delighted in.  “If the grown up is pleased with me already, I have freedom to try growing without fearing shame or rejection.” (Not that a child would actually experience that exact cognitive process… but you get the picture.)  Try it the next time you see a kid hopping on one foot, or telling a joke.  They don’t have to hop gracefully or tell a joke that’s funny.  Just comment on how awesome it is that they can do that.  They will want to one-up themselves without you even mentioning how well they’re performing.  You know what I’m talking about.  They’ll try to jump higher or faster or tell another, funnier joke (or seven).  It’s just how we were created.  To think that that goes away after we ‘grow up’ is crazy.

Now, don’t hear me wrong: as believers – and as sinners, we need to be rebuked and disciplined.  Without those things, we cannot grow or become holy.  However, I’m constantly amazed that when reminded of how much ***God loves me, and how He intercedes for me – how He longs for me – how He knows me, and how He will fight for me, how faithful He is – and how good He is – that He is jealous for me (not to be confused with ‘jealous of me’, thank you very much, Oprah…), how He calls me ‘Beloved’ – that he prays for me*** (again, intercession) – The knowledge of these things moves me toward a desire for holiness.  I have a desire to glorify the God who loves me perfectly.  That is motivation to keep from sinning.   (also, sin destroys us – there are lots of reasons to keep from sinning – just so we’re clear, but that’s not my main point here).  I want to please him because he loves me unconditionally.  How could you not want to please someone who loves you unconditionally?  I feel like a kid who can’t color worth a flip, who’s precious father put up my scribbly work on the refrigerator.  If you think I won’t be trying harder and working on improving my coloring skills, you’re crazy.  I’m so thankful that that’s the kind of God I serve.

And to those who speak this truth – thank you.  (Wanna give a shout out to the leadership at Highlands Presbyterian Church in Ridgeland, MS) 🙂

***Verses backing up the truths I mentioned above:
But God shows his love for us in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us. Romans 5:8
Likewise the Spirit helps us in our weakness.  For we do not know what to pray for as we ought, but the Spirit himself intercedes for us with groanings too deep for words. Romans 8:26
Father, I desire that they also, whom you have given me, may be with me where I am. John 17:24a
But if anyone loves God, he is known by God. 1 Corinthians 8:3 (knowledge of someone refers to deep and intimate knowledge)
The Lord will fight for you, and you have only to be silent. Exodus 14:19, Our God will fight for us. Nehemiah 4:20b
Know therefore that the Lord your God is God, the Faithful God who keeps covenant and steadfast love with those who love him and keep his commandments, to a thousand generations. Deut. 7:9
And we know that for those who love God all things work together for good, for those who are called according to his purpose.  Romans 8:28
Thus says the Lord of hosts: I am jealous for Zion with great jealousy, and I am jealous for her with great wrath.
My beloved is mine and I am his. Song of Solomon 2:16
1 Peter, 1 John, 3 John, Jude, Isaiah… lots of where God’s people are sweetly called Beloved
John 17***  Go see for yourself! 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment