thinking about things that I think about a lot these days…

So, I’m back from Scotland – obviously, and it’s been a while since I’ve posted. I doubt anyone is even still reading this – but even still, it feels a little incomplete without writing a farewell blog.  Here are some things I’ve learned over the past few months:

I’m attempting to submit to the role that God has put me in.  Some days, it’s easier than others.  Along those same lines, I’ve been attempting to submit to who he made me to be.  He has entrusted this struggle to me.  I’m trying to struggle wisely and well – and to learn more about who he is through it all.  I’ve also been thinking a lot about theology lately.  I’ve come to the conclusion that none of us get it all right.  Not to say that I don’t think it’s important to study and know our theology of who God is – I don’t think there is anything in this life more important than that. (Funny, how you might not know that about me by watching me live out my life…) (disappointed look aimed at myself).  But I do think that we often do ourselves a disservice when we undermine the complexity of God by pigeonholing him into our theology to make Him more congruent in our minds.  I do not think that we have him (and his ways) all figured out, nor do I ever think we will.  Then again – I think that if we understood just a fraction of the way in which he loves us, ‘figuring it all out’ (I think) would pale in comparison to the overwhelming awe that we would experience in just resting in that love.  The way that we are to love one another is only a poor reflection of the way in which he loves us.  Even when a relationship is at its best – and the love is so strong you think your heart might just burst in your chest – that love is nothing compared to how he loves us.

So, if there’s anybody out there still reading, thanks for traveling this journey with me.  It’s been an interesting one.  I think this will be my last post for a while – and if I do start up again, it will probably be totally different, and I’ll be ranting about something else.  Though, I hope that I’ll always be ranting and raving about God’s love for his people – for you, beloved.  Until next time,

Emily

xoxoxo

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment