Thinking about things that are different…

Things are different here in Scotland.  Not all things – but there are enough to make a note of.  For instance: If there was a speed limit sign in the US, it would say, “SPEED LIMIT: 20” – but I saw a speed limit sign here that had the number 20 in a circle with the words, “Twenty’s Plenty” underneath it.  I think that’s funny.

And on the way to church today, I saw a store front that said, “Brittle Bone Society.”  You’ve gotta give it to them… It’s much easier to say and understand than osteoporosis.  Don’t worry.  I checked to make sure I knew what the “Brittle Bone Society” actually is.  And yes, it’s osteoporosis.

Church was different too.  It was good – and the preaching was spot on, theologically, which is something that is very important to me.  However, I did find that it was very difficult to get into a real worshiping spirit, as they sings songs out of the psalter – and they sing them acapella.  I did know one of the tunes, but the other 4 songs I wasn’t familiar with. Without accompaniment music or familiarity, it was difficult.  I can’t tell if it was difficult because I didn’t like it or if it was difficult because it was different.  I’m thankful I have more time to figure that one out.

After church, there was a congregation-wide luncheon, followed by coffee, tea, and puddings (which is Scottish for ‘desserts’ — and I’m so glad I found that out ahead of time because I could see THAT lending itself to some pretty embarrassing situations). One of the ladies at church asked me if she had met me before, so naturally, I responded with, “Probably not… I’m not from here…” to which she responded, “Well, you must have  a well kent face then.”  (Apparently that means familiar).

Along similar lines, if a Scot says “dinna ken” that means they don’t know.  Just some helpful hints for you – should you ever decide to come here.  If not, you don’t have to use them as helpful hints – but rather, you can imagine me in funny situations, in which I learn these things the hard way.

Another thing I’m learning the hard way, is that they (for the most part) are much less emotional than the average American.  That goes for all emotional responses.  If they’re happy, they’ll maybe smile and say, “that’s nice,” and if they’re sad, they’ll maybe furrow their brow and say, “oh…”  and if something is funny, they might chuckle a time or two.  I’m not sure they quite know what to do with me, as I’d say that my facial expressions alone are more expressive than any words they’d like to say.

BUT, I’m definitely overgeneralizing – and I’m probably not being very fair.  I’m stereotyping pretty heavily, so take what I’m saying with a grain of salt.  I’ve only been here for a week – and I’m sure I’ll want to eat these words when I leave here.

I think that’s all for now.  I hope you’ve enjoyed what I’ve had to say today.  Thanks so much for reading!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Thinking about things that are different…

  1. dixie livingston says:

    Just so you know, I’ve known what ‘dinna ken’ means for about 10 years now…because I’ve read the Gabaldon books! They are pretty good for research material, so, you might wanna give them a go. Just sayin’

    Enjoy your time, Emily!

  2. Stephanie Little says:

    I’ve enjoyed reading your blog posts thus far! It has been far too long. My prayers are with you. Much love!

  3. Sharon Ammann says:

    Emily, I love the blog! I am enjoying reading about your days. Keep blogging.
    Love ya!!!

    sharon

Leave a comment