Thinking about things that need to be thought about…

I went to Newcastle this weekend.  It was amazing.  I still sometimes have trouble believing that I’ve been given such an incredible opportunity to spend such a great amount of time over here with such wonderful people.  To the Rahaim family: You are the salt of the earth.  For this time with you and for your gracious hospitality, I will be forever grateful.

I’m going over the weekend in my mind, and it really was such a relaxing time for me.  I don’t think I’ve had this much down time in a long time.  I realized on the train ride down, that my UK phone probably rings twice a week, on average now (and both times, it’s my mother asking me to sign in to Skype – which I inevitably cannot.  What IS IT about parental timing??).  Anyway, I began to really settle into the fact that I am not easily accessible these days, and I kind of like it.  Not to say that I don’t love hearing from people – I LOVE getting your emails and facebook messages – but there is something to be said for not being so available 24/7.

Having that much uninterrupted time to myself to think has come at a high cost.  I began the nasty business of self-evaluation and prayer.  There are things I need to forgive.  Things I need to pray for.  Things I should be seeking out.  “Needs” that need to be moved into the “really, they’re just ‘wants’ and I’m a selfish brat” category.  Wisdom to be gained.  Lots of wisdom to be gained.  If you’re reading this, and you are willing to pray for me, please pray that I’ll be given wisdom.  There are friends and family I need to pray for, and yet, sometimes, I don’t.  I forget.  I get wrapped up in my own “needs”.  I heard a really wise person say that she tells people that she’s going to purpose to pray for them, rather than just saying that she will.  I loved that.  How often do we say that we’re going to pray for one another, and then we just forget?  Friends who are reading this – family, if you even realize that I have a blog and I write for you sometimes – I will purpose to pray for you.

I am now gearing down for sleep and my eyelids are getting heavier.  I’m in my temporary room in my temporary home, listening to the wind.  It sounds a lot like thunder far off in the distance – especially when it’s coupled with rain, like it is tonight.

For some reason, I feel compelled to apologize for not including a funny story or a quick-witted phrase here or there… but know that I do have some funny bits for you.  I intended on writing those tonight, but when I started writing, the serious stuff is  what came out, so forgive me, and don’t stop reading.  Unless you choose to – and if you do, that’s fine.  But know that if you do, you won’t get to hear all about expensive grocery store paint pots, pasties, cake mixes (or the lack thereof), and the STUPID STUPID STUPID International Streaming Rights Agreement.  🙂

I hope I haven’t lost you.  Thanks for reading! I hope you’ve enjoyed it.   xoxo

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment