Things I promised I’d mention…

Okay, so first, I’ll tell you about the things I promised I would.

1.) Paint pots in the UK are bottles of fingernail polish.  I found this out at the local grocery store.  I picked some up and contemplated purchasing – but then I noticed that they cost 3 pounds, which turns into 6 dollars. Now, I’m fine with paying 6 dollars for a bottle of good fingernail polish, or three dollars for fingernail polish that you buy at the grocery store – but 6 dollars for a bottle of grocery store fingernail polish just seemed absurd.  (And that was the cheapest kind.  They had some that was 4 pounds…(8 dollars)… some that was 5 pounds.. you get the idea.)…And yes, I do realize that I just did parentheses inside parentheses – but it’s just something I do.  Get over it.  🙂 (meant to be read in the most polite Southern accent as is imaginably possible).

2.) A lot of times, here, instead of saying “pastries” they’ll say “pasties”.  Or maybe it’s that “pasties” are a specific kind of pastry… the details of that are still a little unclear to me.  But as soon as I saw that, I busted out laughing, as “pasties” in the US are stick on…ehhhh…’petals’ if you will, that replace a bra for formal events and/or outfits where one does not want a bra strap to show.  Imagine the private humor I enjoy when I see advertisements for “DELICIOUS PASTIES” plastered all over the place.  It’s great.

3.) They don’t have cake mix here.  They DO… but I’ve only seen it in really expensive grocery stores, and even then, it’s not the kind you’d hope for.  I’m hoping to make some dessert dishes for our Thanksgiving celebration.  One requires regular cake mix, and another spice cake mix (and you can forget about finding THAT over here)… and sadly, I have NO IDEA how to make ‘cake mix’ out of the raw ingredients.  Any suggestions?

4.) Did you know that when you’re not in the US, you can’t watch things on your computer.. like Hulu.com, ABC.com, or NBC.com?…  Because you can’t.  If, say, you’re planning on leaving the country for 3 or so months at a time, and you love to watch certain shows, and you’re planning on watching them for free, online, you can kiss that plan goodbye.  It’s something to do with a stupid International Streaming Rights Agreement or something.  At least that’s what pops up on the screen when you try to watch it.  “Oops! It appears that you’re outside of US territory.  Currently, our video library can only be streamed from within the United States.”  Stupid law.  I did a little research and found out that a few of the shows that I like to watch on a regular basis can be ‘rented’ on itunes for 99cents.  It seems like a fair price to me.  I’m now caught up on the office. 🙂 One show down… 9 to go.  Have I mentioned that I’m a tv/movie junkie?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment